top of page

Don't Believe Me Just Scrub

Today's post is less of a post and more of a "Corey got a weird idea in her head and couldn't stop thinking about it." I've had the song, Uptown Funk stuck in my head for weeks. It's just so damn catchy. If you haven't heard it, you're probably living under a rock (which would be super weird that you have wi-fi under a rock and you're reading my blog, but not listening to modern funk tunes.) ANYWAY... I kept thinking "Wouldn't it be fun if it was adapted to surg tech life?" So on my day off, I sat down with some headphones, YouTube, and an online rhyming dictionary and wrote the parody song "Scrub Tech Funk." I would totally love to make a music video in the OR with this, but I haven't the directorial skills nor the musically-inclinated OR buddies to commandeer into being my backup vocalists. Too bad. It would have been SUPER fun. Without further ado, the lyrics to Scrub Tech Funk.

This girl’s a scrub tech in the OR and she's on deck.

Eyeing up those hot docs and PAs that rock.

Straight masterpieces!

Mask on, gown and gloves,

Touch me at your peril.

I’m a scrubbed bitch with a nose itch,

But can’t touch myself-too sterile!

I’m scrubbed in (scrub tech)

Call the surgeon and the x-ray tech

I’m scrubbed in (scrub tech)

I got lead on and it’s hot as heck

I’m scrubbed in (scrub tech)

All you see’s my eyes and neck

I’m scrubbed in (scrub tech)

So let’s Time Out for safety

Break it down

Sponge hit you hallelujah (Woo!)

Knife hit you hallelujah (Woo!)

Clamp hit you hallelujah (Woo!)

Cause scrub tech funk gonna give it to you.

Cause scrub tech funk gonna give it to you.

Cause scrub tech funk gonna give it to you.

Seven AM and I’m covered in blood

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Hey, hey, hey oh!

Stop! Wait a minute.

Fill my cup. Put some saline in it.

In the wound, give a pour.

Circulator! Need some more!

Scrubbing fractures, total joints, even a lap chole

If it’s on my stand, I’ll pass to your hand

Slicker than a lubed up foley

I’m scrubbed in (scrub tech)

Call the surgeon and the x-ray tech

I’m scrubbed in (scrub tech)

I got lead on and it’s hot as heck

I’m scrubbed in (scrub tech)

All you see’s my eyes and neck

I’m scrubbed in (scrub tech)

So let’s Time Out for safety

Break it down

Sponge hit you hallelujah (Woo!)

Knife hit you hallelujah (Woo!)

Clamp hit you hallelujah (Woo!)

Cause scrub tech funk gonna give it to you.

Cause scrub tech funk gonna give it to you.

Cause scrub tech funk gonna give it to you.

Seven AM and I’m covered in blood.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Hey, hey, hey oh!

Before we leave,

Let me tell y’all a little something

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up.

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up.

I said, Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up.

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up.

Scrub

Jump on it

Can you drive scope? Then flaunt it.

If you’re on call then own it.

Got a butt case? Go prone it.

Scrub

Jump on it

Can you drive scope? Then flaunt it.

Well, it’s seven AM and I’m covered in blood.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Don’t believe me just scrub.

Hey, hey, hey oh!

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up. (Say what?)

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up.

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up. (Say what?)

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up.

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up. (Say what?)

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up.

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up. (Say what?)

Scrub tech funk you up. Scrub tech funk you up.

Aaaaoooow!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Clean
bottom of page