top of page

A Word About Shoes

From what I’m told, most women are obsessed with shoes. Personally, I have never been a “shoe girl.” When I went to clinicals, I asked online for advice and the most recurring answer I received was, “Get good shoes. You’re going to need them!” Were they ever right!

If you have limited cash and invest in nothing else for your career (or clinicals), make a good pair of shoes your first priority. You will be standing for 8 hours a day, everyday and nothing sucks the fun out of a day in surgery like sore feet. Personally, I swear by Alegria shoes. They’re a little spendy, but TOTALLY worth every penny. Thee soles are made of a combination of memory foam, cork, and latex so they are super cushiony and fabulous. (Insider tip: if they squeak when you walk, take out the insoles and sprinkle some talc powder underneath.) I don’t expect everyone (especially students) to have the cash to blow on a sweet pair of Alegrias so I’ve compiled a list of important criteria to consider when you shop for your next pair of OR shoes.

  • Don’t buy shoes with holes on the top.Some people swear by Crocs. In addition to being a frontrunner for “Ugliest Shoe Ever” most Crocs have a design flaw that, as a tech, I cannot overlook: the top of the shoe is covered in holes. You are a surgical tech. You are standing less than a foot away from an open human body that is oozing blood, pee, poop, bile, or any other assorted substances. Do you really want that leaking onto your feet?

  • Choose shoes with waterproof uppersLots of techs these days looooove sneakers. They come in pretty colors. They are comfy and stylish. Unfortunately, most cool looking sneakers have fabric uppers…fabric uppers that allow lots of gross stuff to leak in and stain. You could take them home and wash them, but then you’re taking nasty, nasty patient goop into your home, Ewwww…. Solution? Get a shoe with waterproof uppers. Treated leathers and synthetics are your friend.

  • Is your shoe “scalpel proof”?Once again…Sneakers are great, but do you trust that webbing on top to stop a dropped scalpel from stabbing into your foot? I don’t. Leather for the win.

  • Non-slip soles are your friendEven non-slip soles can be no match for that slippery fat glob the surgeon flicked to the floor. Don’t take chances with a shoe without traction on the bottom. The more traction, the better.

  • Will they stay on your feet?In my humble opinion, open-back clogs are the devil. They are the OR equivalent to wearing flip-flops. Not only do they leave a large part of your foot exposed to surgical grossness, but they also aren’t secure on your feet. We spend a lot of time standing in one place, but other times, we have to be able to move-quickly! It is much safer for you and those around you if you don’t have to worry about tripping and losing a shoe in the process.

So there it is-my non-comprehensive list of requirements for OR shoes. Are you exhilarated? Because I know I am. I swear I’ll be back to the blood and guts humor next week. Happy New Year and Happy New Shoes to all!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Clean
bottom of page