top of page

Welcome to the OR

The operating room is like a weird secret club that no one knows anything about and those who work within won’t discuss. In surgery, we slice people open like pieces of ripe fruit. We put things in and take things out. We make people better and, in some cases, make them worse. And all of this happens behind the closed doors of the OR. To the outside world, it’s magic-the Surgical Wizards of Oz hidden behind their mystical scrub-green curtains.

A year ago, I was just like you. I knew something amazing was going on in American operating rooms and I wanted to know what it was. Furthermore, I wanted to be a part of it. So despite having no former medical training or background, I enrolled in a Surgical Technology program. Two years later, I became a member of that exclusive surgical club and discovered that surgery is stranger than anyone could ever imagine. It is stressful, rewarding, crazy, humorous, and fun. So at the risk of raising the ire of the secretive surgical community, I’m going to let you into my world. Come with me and I’ll give you a view of what happens behind closed doors. Welcome to the OR.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
  • Facebook Clean
bottom of page